A Lush Life (And Its Hefty Price Tag)

One of my presents from my recent birthday was a lovely Halloween set from Lush Cosmetics. Inside was a Lord of Misrule bath bomb, Lord of Misrule shower gel, a Halloween scarf and a bat shaped shower jelly. I was ecstatic with the gift. I absolutely adore Lush products and stand by them on the majority of their views on the world. They’re an excellent company making some excellent products.

But as I later lathered up in the shower, enjoying my zesty smelling shower gel and watching my skin turn momentarily green, I couldn’t help but wonder why my whole bathroom wasn’t filled top to bottom with these ‘do-good-feel-good’ products. And then I remembered…I can’t afford it.

maxresdefault

It’s true that prices have crept up over the years and Lush have never tried to be a cheap brand. But they have always tried to be a brand for everyone. They have campaigned tirelessly for various human rights charities and raised awareness for some fantastic causes, their products are fair trade and they put a lot of money back towards the rural areas from which they source their ingredients. But what does it say about them that one of those farmer’s they help would probably have to sell their house (and half of their family) to be able to afford a tub of body lotion?

Sure, this day and age we’re used to paying more money for products that do more for us and the world in general, but you do have to wonder whether we’re actually paying more to aid these noble causes or simply for the privilege to feel superior to the drones of modern consumerism. Buying organic? Expensive. Buying free range? Expensive. Buying fair trade? Expensive. Of course sometimes the popular saying is true – ‘You get what you pay for’, but reality is that most of us are on a budget and when it’s a choice between that extra hour of heating every cold winter morning or a cow that’s been to Disney World before being shipped off to the chop shop, chances are the cow is going to lose.

In the case of Lush, I view their products as a treat and not a lifestyle, which is a shame because ethically I totally buy in to the lifestyle they’re trying to sell – I just can’t actually afford to buy in to it.

One Christmas I actually worked for Lush as a temp and I began to notice a few things. The people who religiously came in to Lush week after week and filled their baskets like they daren’t let anything not made by a lushie touch their skin were either sickeningly middle class or looked like they had sold all of their earthly possessions – probably to afford Lush’s earthly possessions (either that or that had rich parents.) You’re average shopper would browse for ten to fifteen minutes, pluck a few bath bombs and maybe a shampoo from the shelves and then hurry excitedly to the counter to pay, all too willing to let me know this was a ‘special treat’ after I gave them the total.

There has always been something terribly pretentious about having this ‘organic only’ type of lifestyle, and as I got to know my colleagues this became all the more apparent. A lot of Lush staff are actually meat eaters, but the vast majority of them are not. As much stick as the vegan community get, there are some people who just don’t do themselves any favours with every single conversation turning in to an ethical debate and glaring at their co-workers with a look of utter disgust for eating a cheese burger in the break room. There was even a supervisor (who was vegan) who kicked customers out of the store for having closed boxes of chicken with them, and when I asked another supervisor about it she just sighed and rolled her eyes and informed me the store had no policy against customers bringing in food or drink.

With a hefty staff discount (50%) Lush encourage staff to immerse themselves in the brand and use as many products as possible, which for that discount I happily did. I had bath bombs and bubble bars, shower gels, shower jellies and all manner of shampoos and lotions. The products were beautiful and my skin felt great, not to mention the entire upstairs of my house smelt absolutely divine. I fully stand by the statement that Lush products are well made with the best ingredients and do wonders for the skin. I just can’t stand by the price tag.

As much as Lush have always been honest about their right to make a profit (which as a business they have every right to do) I can’t help but wish they would stop feeding in to this notion that philanthropy is for the privileged. With hundreds of stores worldwide manned by small teams of workers on just a little more than minimum wage, hundreds of pricey products and millions of loyal customers, they can afford it.

5 thoughts on “A Lush Life (And Its Hefty Price Tag)

Leave a comment